My Weekend Getaway to BeautyCon NYC

Hello friends!

I cannot believe it’s May and almost June!

Despite all of the showers in my personal life in April, I found time for a weekend getaway to NYC with my best friend Quortney and her friend Naomi.

Let me start by saying this, my girls and I went on a journey before revelling in our weekend getaway excitement and fun.

On the day I was supposed to leave for NYC, I ended up in the hospital after having a panic attack over an infection in my foot at work. The doctors relieved me of my pain, and thankfully, I was able to head back to work and received the doctor’s approval to still travel to NYC. Of course, my foot had to stay wrapped in gauze and an ace bandage, and I had to walk around NYC in a walking boot. It was miserable, but I would not have made the trip without that ugly blue walking boot.

Anyway, fast forward, I almost missed my bus, and I rushed all the way to the bus station only to discover our bus had been delayed by 2 hours. Apparently, our bus driver was stuck in traffic so another driver had to come in his place. The characters in line made the wait quite amusing as they speculated and made jokes about his whereabouts on April 20. Laughter was much needed in order for me to bear the pain of standing on my foot as we patiently waited to board the bus. I was supposed to end up on the same bus as Quortney and Naomi, but that didn’t happen as a result of the delay. Their bus coming from Baltimore was on time, and they caught an earlier bus headed to NYC once they arrived in Philly. I was disappointed to say the least, but everything happens for a reason.

Quortney and Naomi arrived in NYC around 2 a.m., and then made their way to the Airbnb we booked in Weehawken, NJ. I will be uploading a video of Quortney and Naomi describing their first Airbnb experience in the near future. For now, let’s just say, the area was sketchy and they opened the door to a filthy Airbnb with pubes on the bedsheets and dishes in the bathroom. . . (cue laughter) As you might have guessed, I was up at 3 a.m. on the phone with Quortney as she was trying to get a refund, which we successfully received. Luckily, I was able to find a hotel that would take us in at the last minute. God is so good!

Well, I finally made it into NYC around 6 a.m. (even though I was supposed to arrive by 4 a.m.), and then I made my way to the hotel to join Quortney and Naomi for breakfast.

Quortney made a video documenting our BeautyCon experience I’m sharing that with you all instead of writing a long blog post. Enjoy the video below!


Two major highlights of my BeautyCon experience include meeting @ColorMeCourtney from the Microsoft Surface TV commercial and being an audience member of a beauty chat between Phillip Picardi and Paris Hilton. Despite the rough start to this trip, I’d say our BeautyCon NYC experience was a major success!

ACS_0015

IMG_3304

I was only in NYC for a day; however, we stopped by many places I’d highly recommend tourists visiting! I will write a follow up blog post for you all about places you must visit in Chelsea, NY.

Stay tuned!

 

Made with Love and Fire,

Blog Signature-4

Leave a comment